F.O.S.
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Work Stuff

3 posters

Go down

Work Stuff Empty Work Stuff

Post  z Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:53 pm

So, as most of you know, I work in retail. At the headquarters of a huge company.
We have about 1800 stores and about 55,000 machines where the software I work on runs (point-of-sale registers).

As we go through management and organization changes things are getting to be a lot more of a pain in the ass.
I used to write the software. Then they decided India could do it cheaper, so now I mostly just tell India what to do,
and they do it (or try to).

So now, when anything complicated goes wrong, it can be HUGE DOLLARS (because the problem could be on 55,000 machines).
So, even though we lost many of the people that knew anything, those of us left are holding the bag.

Long story short -- I'm probably going to have to spend more time trying to fix that shit than I want to.
So, I'm not ignoring you. I just need to sleep from time to time....

Keep on rockin'

Z

z
z
Admin

http://atomicforcerecords.com

Back to top Go down

Work Stuff Empty Re: Work Stuff

Post  globaltrancemission Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:39 am

A story I know only too well Z Smile

I worked in the Geophysical industry (making oil exploration equipment) for a company based in Houston who had a sister company in Holland. The Holland branch also expanded into the UK to where I live which had a good airport connection with Amsterdam.
The Uk had a manufacturing plant and I was employed there to help with Planning for jobs and materials and give estimates.
Then they opened another satellite manufacturing plant to increase production in Dubai. There is lots of cheap Indian manual labour in Dubai.